Dal Soggio for 4CS?

OneLapper

"You don't *really* need the water pump...."
Forum's Sponsor
So I nearly died for the last time at this weekends Jday GP at Southwick.

My pace has gotten faster and I'm now experiencing/noticing the short comings of the 4CS forks. I'm a solid Novice on any motocross track and can usually keep pace in the woods (except when riding with @Duncan who appears to have superhuman abilities on his stock EX).

The forks are either too soft, or too hard in the woods. There is no middle ground. I can't even speak to jumping on a motocross track because the conditions at Southwick were awful, ruts like I've never seen or ridden in.

I talked to a local suspension guy that provided track side support. He has done four Altas with 4CS forks using Dal Soggiocomponents and said this setup works really well. I've seen several different company names kicked around in the Suspension thread but Dal Soggio is not one of them.

From what I got out of the conversation, the Dal Soggio solution is a complete insert, not a revalve. Basically the only the body of the fork is used, everything else is new and of a different design.

Any thoughts or comments before I invest some cash on this?

Reactions: Rix

Oded

In Israel, the Del Saggio upgrade is the most popular one for 4CS forks. They also have a version for the newer Xplor forks.

Although we use it here mainly for enduro and not MX, it is supposed to be the best bang for the buck upgrade. I have no personal experience with it though.

Philip

Administrator
Staff member
I considered Del Saggio but decided not to bother. They are expensive. They are valved for popular KTM and other models, so they will need to be re-valved for the Alta. You do not know what you are getting until you have tried them on your own bike. You might have to send them back a few times before they feel right. And, considering that you are a solid novice, I would not rely on your own tuning skills.