New Alta article, any corrections?

Hi, My name is Ron, and I recently wrote an article about Alta motorcycles. Although I have been writing for several years on electricbike.com (bicycles), I have had my motorcycle license since 1976 (yes, I am that old). If anyone is interested, maybe take a look at the article and tell me if I have made any mistakes, or possibly left out something important. I will take all suggestions under consideration.

Alta Motors? Heres what I found | ElectricMotorcycle.com | The Electric Revolution Starts Here

Philip

Administrator
Staff member
“BRD”. It was started by four friends that were all motocross enthusiasts. They are…Marc Fenigstein, Derek Dorresteyn, Jeff Sand, and David Drennan.
I think there were only 3 co-founders, with Marc Fenigstein being the last.

Thanks. This is why I came here. There was conflicting information on the web between a dozen stories about the start. I didn't find much on David Drennan, even though one article seem credible and listed these four. Would David be pissed if I cut him out?

I almost got the impression that Derek was the driving force behind building a prototype, and starting the company. But...Marc's biographies, articles, and interviews seemed to indicate he was "first" somehow?

I don't care who I piss off, we have no advertising, so...I'd rather be known as someone who found out the accurate story and printed that. Diplomatically, of course, but...if it was three guys in the beginning, I want to write that.

snydes

Staff member
Nice article. The only thing that caught my attention was I do not believe the production bikes have radiators tucked up in there. If I recall there are coolant tubes integrated into the frame that serve to transfer the heat. I might be wrong on that, I’m sure others will chime in.

Philip

Administrator
Staff member
Alta uses a 2-stage geared RPM-reduction between the motor and the output sprocket (which then drives the exposed chain).