Charging strategies for long battery life?

ecd

I just bought a 2019 EXR and am curious about a few things. Apparently the only owners manual is the 2017 one, before even the EX existed?

- Should follow any particular guidelines with charging to prolong battery life?
- Is it okay to top it off at any usage (e.g., when battery is at 90%)?
- Is it okay to ride until limp mode regularly?
- Is it okay to leave it in the charger when fully charged for extended periods?
- Is riding at high temps okay? e.g. 100 degrees

I don't intend to be paranoid about this and don't intend on babying it, but I'm completely new to this and don't want to be making some dumb mistake that has a large impact

The owners manual seems very sparse on info like this. I did see this at least:
Do not leave the HV battery below 10% charge for more than one week, or below 25% for more than one month. When storing the HV battery, charge it to 40-60% (or higher) and check it monthly, recharging if needed.

WoodsWeapon

i dont have any by the book info to offer, but I charge between motos routinely and so far havent encountered any problems. Ive raced a hare scramble at 97 degrees. The charger will shut itself off at full charge. Long term effects, I dont know, but thats what Ive done since August.
I assume you havent taken delivery of the EXR yet? Did they give you an estimated date?

ecd

I assume you havent taken delivery of the EXR yet? Did they give you an estimated date?

I picked it up today. I thought they weren't available for ~4 weeks, but apparently the dealer I went to had some of the first ones. K&B Motorsports in Petaluma, CA. I was told that this is the 3rd EXR they sold (and the first 2 were the first in the country). When I was there today there was 1 EXR (besides mine) and 3 MXRs.

snydes

Staff member
I just bought a 2019 EXR and am curious about a few things. Apparently the only owners manual is the 2017 one, before even the EX existed?