Tesla Powerwall

Philip

Administrator
Staff member
Recently @rayivers introduced us all to an idea of having a Tesla Powerwall installed in your van.

1529195425395.png

He said it's cool, but the $6.6K + installation price tag made it not as cool as it were if it also had been cheap.

However, I keep coming back to this idea. This is simply because the gas generator options are either big and loud, or big and heavy and expensive, or expensive and exist only in Europe, or require an additional step-up 120-240V transformer.

I own a big 240V generator and a small 110V generator. Today I took the small one to the track with me. A friend came from Ohio and the two of us took my two bikes, jumped in my van, and went. I took the small one because I knew the place would be packed, and I knew I would have to park far away from others to use the big and loud one. So I did not take it.

Typically I can do three sessions in Map 2. But recently I started riding in Map 4 more. It is more fun at high speed and allows me to clear bigger jumps. Well, my one bike lasted only 1.5 sessions, and my beginner friend got almost four sessions out of his. We plugged in one bike and then the other to charge, but we were only able to milk one more session out of them. Even then, the smaller and relatively quiet generator was annoying and not very effective. The only way to enjoy the bike in Map 4 all day long is to keep the bike plugged into 240V at all times.

So, besides the cheap and loud 240V generators, all other options are ridiculously expensive. The 240V Inverter in a Van or Truck option is the most appealing to me. No need to drag the big generator in and out of the van, buy gas for it, and then listen to it make noise. But standing outside or a running van on a sunny day is hot and uncomfortable as well. So, I am back thinking about the the Tesla Powerwall.