Rad Shrouds are murder on my knees

Don

Hey Everyone,
I am new to the Alta World, just got an MXR and I'm very impressed. Coming off a 2016 KX450, there are some considerable benefits on this machine. The suspension is way better and the foot pegs are sweet. It is weird to get used to the lack of noise, but it is coming along. I wanted to ask if anyone has done anything to slim down the rad shrouds? I am short and find they are murder on my knees. Are there any options for aftermarket yet to try and suck them into the frame.

snydes

Staff member
Hi Don, welcome to the forum. At this point we have no aftermarket options for the shrouds. Others have also expressed similar concerns about those ribs tearing up their knees. For now we are stuck coming up with our own band aid fixes till Alta or the aftermarket catches up.

Philip

Administrator
Staff member
Yeah. The only time I find those shrouds marginally acceptable is when I am wearing knee braces. Even then, their ( ) bubble shape does not flow with how the knees move.

These ribs are for styling only. I wonder if they are just cut out, would this be better?

C5tor

Chief Comedic Instigator
Went for my first real ride yesterday on my new MXR. Had a total blast, but the one thing that I did note was that the shrouds did tear up my knees. I think I'm going to have to go with a knee brace of some kind. I couldn't grip the "tank" area with my knees, only the area behind the shrouds. Quite painful, actually. I would say it was the only negative I had about the whole experience.

Philip

Administrator
Staff member
Yep. I too will be ditching the shrouds as soon as I apply some vinyl on the aluminum frame. It's a real pleasure to ride without them. The bike feels narrow and super easy to hold, better than any motorcycle I have ever ridden.

snydes

Staff member
Any interest in a custom frame graphics kit? If we can get a template made up I know who can design us a set.

Philip

Administrator
Staff member
Definitely.