MXR suspension setup for 200lb rider

otbnc

I grew up racing on four wheels so I’m pretty new to dirt bikes, but I’m loving the MXR I bought a few months ago! I mainly ride in woods trails but I’m hoping to get out on a starter track soon and start to learn how to jump it properly.

I weigh approx 200lbs / 205lbs with gear and wondered if anyone could give me a good starting point for shock setup? I’ve got a pump for the front forks arriving next week.

Is the stock spring ok or do I need something stiffer?

Thanks for your help!

snydes

Staff member
Congrats on the MXR, great machine and hard to come by lately! As far as the shock spring, if I recall correctly the spring should be fairly close for your weight providing it wasn’t changed already, others will correct me if I’m wrong on that. There was a shock revision in MXRs on the valving, but that probably won’t come into play for your for awhile.

Have fun!

Philip

Administrator
Staff member
@otbnc -- Congrats on a great purchase!

Coming to 2 wheels from 4 wheels is tough! I hope you are good at least at riding bicycles. I remember my auto racing crazy friend went mountain biking with us for the first time. He knew how to ride a bicycle before... or so he thought. He crashed like 5 times probably. When he wanted to turn right, he was steering also to the right, LOL!

Then I took him and my other mountain bike racing friend to a motocross track. The mountain bike racing friend did okay, eventually looping out on a tiny jump. He had fun. Buy the 4-wheel friend was a little short for the bike, and with his poor balancing skills he was unable to even start riding a dirt bike on his own. That was funny to us but not to him, LOL!

Check to make sure you you have a v.2 shock:
MXR Rear Shock v.1 vs. v.2

And make sure you have the stock 60 N/mm spring. The spring should say 60-260 on its side. That spring is good for your weight.