Most Common Parts to Replace

NW Velo

I am relatively new to the Alta Family since picking up a 2018 EX a few months back. What would be great to hear from those members that have put on some significant miles, what they feel would be the list of most important replacement pieces to have on hand? There’s going to be a point when parts become harder to come by so if a person were to find a resource, what would you fill your tool box with so we can continue to enjoy these incredible bikes for many years to come?

bluefxstc

I have a little over 5,000 miles on my bike and have done almost nothing except tires and a little gear lube. If something Alta proprietary breaks, there seems to be enough parts and knowledge through this site to fix everything. I haven't heard of a bike being permanently broken at this point. Almost everything else on the bike, suspension, brakes, bars, wheels..., is readily commercially available.

snydes

Staff member
Ditto on above. I'd say if anything I'd keep a spare front swingarm chain slider and also one of the lower front sliders. One of our members had created an aftermarket front slider that you can find the info for HERE and on eBay. You can also get the lower HERE. Most of us have some spare plastic that you can get from Liquid Performance either directly through our representative here ayden_kry or through their eBay store. Probably get a subframe, rear fender and side panels if you are feeling enthusiastic. Most of us have more spares than we probably will really ever need though...

Jayfox911

I bought a screen protector and a spare throttle since if those break it can stop you from riding for the day/weekend.
Also spare shrouds and rear number plates you should probably get.

wwmotors

The best bike , I ever had: After 5000 Klicks only MX-riding on my MXR, I changed a few tyres front and rear, 1 complete chainset, 1 chaingard rear, 1 frontfenderholder, geroilchange every 40 hours. Thats it.

F451