How often to check the WP AER48 fork air pressure?

Philip

Administrator
Staff member
I am new to air forks, if I didn't count mountain bikes. I have never had one on my dirt bike before I got my MXR. I bought the MXR almost 3 months ago, but I haven't adjusted or even checked the pressure since the dealer set it when they unboxed the bike. The fork still seems fine, but I noticed last week it may be getting a little low on pressure. Checking it before every ride seems ridiculous. How often does it really need to be checked?

Fog 25

Philip, I check mine before each ride. Mainly because I used different air pressures for different tracks and temperature and altitude will affect the pressure.
You want to bleed the pressure out with the bleed screws so you have a consistent fill each time out.
I do have friends with air forks on their gas bikes and they never check them.

Philip

Administrator
Staff member
I should perhaps start checking it every once in a while. I do not yet have a favorite pressure setting, so it is kinda pointless for me to set it to some target. But knowing what pressure works for what track is valuable.

Fog 25

I should perhaps start checking it every once in a while. I do not yet have a favorite pressure setting, so it is kinda pointless for me to set it to some target. But knowing what pressure works for what track is valuable.
What why you check it. Write your starting point down. Ride it for awhile come back and change it up and down a few pounds and see what feels good to you. Once you get a base line setting (favorite pressure) than you can adjust it too what type of terrain you are riding on.

Philip

Administrator
Staff member
I am going to get an Xtrig rear spring preload adjuster when I revalve my MXR suspension. Then I will be able to play with the rear sag and the front pressure. Right now the damping is so far off that playing with minor spring adjustments is pointless.

Fog 25