Owner's Review First EX ride! Lots of good, but also some questions.

Jon

I finally picked up a 2018 EX and got it out on some trails! I'm new to California and live pretty much next to LAX, so it's a long drive to any kind of riding that I can find information on. I ended up in the hills above Santa Barbra (Divide peak OHV) because I wanted a view.

First impression: amazing. The power delivery is super smooth, and the lack of exhaust meant riding without ear plugs for the first time in a long time! The weight is really apparent when taking the bike out of the truck and moving it around, but once you are moving, this thing is really flick-able. I ended up riding up some of the rocky double track of divide peak and generally taking it pretty easy. This was my first ride, so I just wanted a light shake down run.

About an hour into the ride (and maybe 10 miles), I noticed that the battery was at about half. I had been riding mostly uphill, so I suspected I could go further, but didn't want to test my luck on ride 1; I turned around. However, the view up there is pretty amazing, so I stopped, turned the bike off and just hung out for about 10-15 minutes. When I turned the bike back on, the strangest thing happened: the battery showed 3/4 instead of 1/2 charge remaining. Not sure if the cool down helped or if the computer reset or what... has this happened to anyone else?