Battery Energy State Hysteresis

mlbco

I noticed that the battery energy state has a "hysteresis" behavior if you power cycle the bike while charging or discharging (i.e. riding.) This video shows examples of how you will "gain" energy when charging just by turning the key on/off and similarly you will "lose" energy if you do the same during a ride.

I think the energy level is estimated by the integral of volts*amps when riding (or charging) but every time you power cycle the bike it gets reset based on the actual zero-load cell voltage. I'm pretty sure that if you turn the key off during a ride you will lose about 10% energy (i.e. the software won't let you access that energy in the battery pack because of the estimated charge state.) I'm still studying this but for now, I will not turn off the key during a ride!

Steve

OneLapper

"You don't *really* need the water pump...."
Forum's Sponsor
Interesting. I must have shut my bike off 10 times during my last 40 mile ride. I wonder if your theory would have resulted in a longer ride. I'll test your theory out next weekend.

mlbco

My theory is that each time you cycle the main power, the energy reading resets to the value calculated from the zero load battery pack voltage. From what I've seen there is roughly a 10% energy error over a complete discharge cycle so you might gain 10% by not turning it off. I think after a certain amount of power cycling the value doesn't change much because it's constantly being corrected to the battery pack voltage-based capacity estimate. I'll test this again tomorrow.

Steve

strider

I am not a battery engineer, just parroting things I've learned having Teslas for the last 8 years...