240v female to 110v male adapter

Bionicman

E powertrain proponent
Looking for a link for an adapter pig tail in case a 240v plug isn't available for the fast charger?

snydes

Staff member
The fast charger will come with the 240v plug. You would need to make an adapter if you want to plug into 110v though.

stretch67

It really bugs me that there is not more info from Alta on this.

There is some good info in the fast charging thread, page 2.
https://altaownersforum.com/threads/alta-fast-charger.57/page-2

Important nugget from thread: Alta 3300 Fast Charger: 12A√ (120V, 1,400W), 16A√ (240V, 3,800W)

I'm not an Electrician so do this at your own risk, but here is basically what I bought and wired it like the diagram Alta gave in the thread.
All is working well for me. You may want to go with a larger wire gage but 12A off of 120V, this should be ok.

Reliance Controls Twist Lock 30-Amp 125/250-Volt Connector-L1430C - The Home Depot

Southwire 3 ft. 16/3-Gauge SJTW Power Supply Cord, Black-97038808 - The Home Depot

Diagram
1528976851791.png

Bionicman

E powertrain proponent
The fast charger will come with the 240v plug. You would need to make an adapter if you want to plug into 110v though.
That's what I'm looking for is an adapter to a110v outlet. Am I going to have to become a sparky or is something commercially ie quality available. Hate to burn up a 800$ charger or worse a 13k motorcycle...

snydes

Staff member
That's what I'm looking for is an adapter to a110v outlet. Am I going to have to become a sparky or is something commercially ie quality available. Hate to burn up a 800$ charger or worse a 13k motorcycle...

Ah, ok, I misunderstood your question. These adapter cords are really only applicable to using these chargers, and in the hands of the uninformed could cause damage/fires/etc. if used for anything else. That’s why you won’t find Alta putting anything on “paper” about them. Liability issues.